A Local Tradition Since 1946
Palace Saimin was the vision of Kame Ige, who immigrated from Okinawa in 1924. Mrs. Ige named the restaurant “Palace Saimin” after the Palace Theater on Beretania street. The shop was opened in 1946 near the theater and the Palace Saimin experience began.
In 1950 Palace Saimin moved next to Tamashiro Market on N King Street and again in 1960 to the existing location. In 1975 Mrs. Ige decided to offer the stand to one of her trusted waitresses, Setsuko Arakaki (“Mama”).
Mrs. Arakaki has been working hard with Mrs. Yoshiko Takahashi, (waitress for over 40 years) and the rest of the friendly staff to serve the customers and keep the tradition alive. In 2011 Mrs. Arakaki’s daughter, Susan Nakagawa, decided to take care of her mother and help keep the tradition alive. We look forward to keeping Palace Saimin around for the generations of the past to enjoy, and the future generations to experience.
Thank you for supporting our business and the families it touches.